Decisions, Decisions

One of the biggest challenges since moving here one month ago is figuring out how to prioritize my time and energy… how to make decisions between two good things (or eight good things…).  I’m reading Getting Things Done by David Allen (because I “love systems,” according to my delightfully perceptive significant other) and love the way he recognizes that it is impossible to get everything done but we should have the freedom to be in the moment with whatever we choose to do:

“Whatever you’re doing, you’d probably like to be more relaxed, confident that whatever you’re doing at the moment is just what you need to be doing–that having a beer with your staff after hours, gazing at your sleeping child in his or her crib at midnight, answering the e-mail in front of you, or spending a few informal minutes with the potential new client after the meeting is exactly what you ought to be doing, as you’re doing it.” (p. xi)

  Centering prayer has taught me the same thing: be present in the NOW.

And this is why the RevGalBlogPals Friday Five challenge has been super-difficult for me this morning.  I could write eight pages on each decision and why I want both/and instead of either/or.  But it boils down to what I want in the *present,* recognizing that I can’t have or do all things all at once.

This week’s challenge is to check out the following pairs and tell which one of each appeals to you most:

1) Sunrise or Sunset
Sunrise –> alone or with others, waking up early, sitting on the beach, waiting for God to appear….

2) To the Mountains or To the Beach
Mountains –> the smell of trees, the greens and browns of living color, the sense of home…

3) Coffee or Tea
Coffee –> by myself, with a friend, beginning to feel normal after the arduous waking-up process, slowing down for a cup in the middle of the day….

4) Advent or Lent
Advent —> “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel,” the joy of anticipation, the sharp turn in the weather, and oh! the music

5) “Raindrops on Roses” or “Whiskers on Kittens
Whiskers on Kittens –> squirmy, living, cuddly…

So those decisions weren’t as hard as I anticipated, even knowing that there are ten good choices to choose from… perhaps I can someday soon make the decisions about my time (what to work on, when to rest, what to let go of) knowing that there are too many good options from which to choose…

 

This entry was posted in RevGalBlogPals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decisions, Decisions

  1. Sharon says:

    So glad you played! I got a lot out of the GTD system, too. I hope you will keep blogging about your challenges and your “a-ha” moments.

    • La Peregrina says:

      Thanks, Sharon! I appreciate you coming up with the Friday Five challenge for today… you did a good job pinch hitting!

      I haven’t actually started the GTD system yet, although I now have a VERY full “in” box (which has temporarily replaced the stacks of things *everywhere* since moving). I am very motivated to get started getting things done!

  2. Wendy says:

    I made myself pick one on each of these, and it was tough. I went with Advent for many of the reasons you say, but what O Come O Come is for me for Advent, What Wondrous Love is for Lent.

    • La Peregrina says:

      Wendy, thanks for your comment! I love “What Wondrous Love” too, but for some reason I don’t associate it with Lent in the same way that I associate “O Come, O Come” with Advent.

Leave a Reply

