One Word for 2011?

Two snow days in Atlanta and already I have cabin fever… geesh…  The good news for this blog is that I can only clean out my closet and procrastinate writing thank-you notes for so long… and then I decide to do the lowest item on my to-do list, which is to do my once-a-year blog post.  (Okay, it’s more like once-a-month…)

My friend Katie is much better about blogging than I am.  She chose two words for 2010 and one word for 2011 as her non-resolutions.

I initially (as in, a year ago) scoffed at such ideas.  A non-resolution??  One word??

I have always been a sucker for the two-column, two-page, bulleted New Year’s resolution list.  I write each self-improvement idea in a category.  A typical resolution & sub-resolution looks like this:

I.  Health
A.  Go to bed @ 10
1.  Don’t drink coffee after 2 PM

(THAT was an actual resolution from last year… and in NO way was it fulfilled!!)

I was pleasantly surprised when I opened my New Years 2010 doc that I had completed 9/40 of them.

But there was one word… written at the top in capital letters with an exclamation mark after it… that I had absolutely NOT done.

And THAT, my friends, will be my WORD for 2011.  But you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out what it is…

What about the rest of you?  Any words chosen to capture your 2011 year?

This entry was posted in New Years and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Word for 2011?

  1. Christina says:

    I am overcome with admiration for you for even TRYING to go to bed by 10:00 pm and not drink coffee after 2:00.

    • La Peregrina says:

      That goal was unfortunately subverted by 2:30-5:30 pm classes…

      And then about the time YOU met me, I was busy drinking Turkish coffee after supper and then hanging out at the Sea of Galilee until all hours of the night 😉 So yeah, that resolution didn’t go well!

  2. Leslie Daniels says:

    My word for this year is “prepare,” as people in a farming community might say “prepare your land for rain.” For me, in the suburbs, I suppose it means keep looking up for the rain clouds as in 1 Kings 18. I have been in a drought for 7 years…
    I commend you for having 40 goals last year! I wonder, if you would have achieved those 9 if you had not written them down.

    • La Peregrina says:

      Thanks, Leslie! I hope your drought ends soon… and I am excited that you’ll be prepared!
      I’m pretty sure that the process of writing my goals down last year was good for making some changes in my life, even if not all of them panned out! And out of the other 31 goals, I had good starts on a lot of them (e.g., I prayed many days, but not all of them!) — just not as consistent as I would like!

  3. Darrell says:

    I was considering the idea of suggesting people act out a certain verb as a goal for 2011. What I mean is, don’t use the word, actually do the action the verb describes. I never got around to actually doing this, but some of the suggested verbs I came up with were “pontificate”, “defenestrate”, and “resurrect”, as I feel these are things people don’t do often enough.

    • La Peregrina says:

      I defenestrate people on a regular basis… every time I visit Prague…

      And we both know that I pontificate all the time 😉

      The resurrection bit might be a tad more complicated to accomplish on one’s own.

  4. Pingback: Trust, Patience, Discernment, Peace… and then Hope… « La Peregrina

  5. Pingback: One Word Resolution: Relax! « La Peregrina

Leave a Reply

