We’re Traveling on a Road We’ve Never Seen Before

I put these lyrics up as my “About Me” when I first started this blog a few months ago because it was the easiest thing to post.  Now that I actually have more than just my mother reading this blog (HI, MOM!), I thought that I should update the “About Me” a bit and put some relevant information instead of song lyrics that no one but the Mission of Peace (SHOUT-OUT to 2003 NICARAGUA MOP!) would actually get.  We sang this song almost daily during that three-week journey, and each time I hear it I am reminded of the “dusty feet and bodies” that accompany everything in Nicaragua during the dry season. 

Two years later I went to college and the following verse began to strike a chord: “We have left the past behind us and the ones who call us children./ We’re searching out a new frontier, a place to call our own.”  Where was my place?  Who was I in relation to my parents, my home conference, and my self?  

With that process of growing up came the questions of call and vocation and “traveling on a road we’ve never seen before”  …and quite honestly, I knew which way to go but didn’t want to do it.  I had been hurt in community, and I fear(ed) further hurt in entrusting myself to churches for the rest of my life.  But ultimately, it was within community, “the coming together of our souls in time and space” that I began to trust the “vision of the smile on Future’s face.”

So that’s “About Me.”

La Peregrina (“The Pilgrim”)
 

__________________________________

This blog records my journey through seminary (a “pilgrimage” or “peregrinaje,” if you will).  This song by Dorie Ellzey Blesoff is my soundtrack as I go:

We are gathered here together in the presence of the Spirit,
the Spirit that keeps breaking in our lives. 
We don’t have all the answers, but we sure do have the questions. 
We know that to create is to survive.  

We’re traveling on a road we’ve never seen before,
and, oh, it’s hard to know which way to go. 
But somewhere there’s a promise ‘bout distant shore
that those who seek will someday know.  

We are gathered here together with our dusty feet and bodies.
We’re tired and sore and restless and we don’t know how we feel.
Well, we wash each other’s sandals and anoint our heads with water,
and somewhere in the pain there is a place that starts to heal. 

We’re traveling on a road we’ve never seen before,
and, oh, it’s hard to know which way to go. 
But somewhere there’s a promise ‘bout distant shore
that those who seek will someday know.  

We are gathered here together; we are strangers in a strange land.
Nomads in the desert, we are exiles meant to roam.
We have left the past behind us and the ones who call us children.
We’re searching out a new frontier, a place to call our own. 

We’re traveling on a road we’ve never seen before,
and, oh, it’s hard to know which way to go. 
But somewhere there’s a promise ‘bout distant shore
that those who seek will someday know.  
 

We are gathered here together just to celebrate the union,
the coming together of our souls in time and space.
Well, we know God’s reign is coming and we know it won’t come easy,
but still we trust our vision of the smile on Future’s face.  

 We’re traveling on a road we’ve never seen before,
and, oh, it’s hard to know which way to go. 
But somewhere there’s a promise ‘bout distant shore
that those who seek will someday know. 

Doris Ellzey Blesoff, “We Are Gathered

This entry was posted in Peregrinaje and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to We’re Traveling on a Road We’ve Never Seen Before

  1. Pingback: Jesus was at table with friends… | La Peregrina

  2. Lydia Hall-Lochmann says:

    I just wanted to tell you that this post made me just about cry. I actually just came back from Nicaraguga on MOP and I could not get this song out of my head thank you

    • La Peregrina says:

      Thanks, Lydia! I hope you had a wonderful time on MOP. I first went to Nica in 2003 and then went back for a summer five years later to work with Proyecto Chacocente. What a wonderful place to take off your sandals and experience the presence of God! I’m hoping that Erin (who lives near me) will be able to come to the church I serve and share more about your trip. Dios te bendiga!

  3. Gretchen Wright says:

    I just came back from MOP to South Africa yesterday, so today has been challenging. I Googled “We are Gathered” just to see what would pop up. I love that the MOP family is so large! I’m praying for you and it made me so happy that this song has affected you as much as it inspires me. Shalom.

    • La Peregrina says:

      I’m so glad that this blog could help you in your transition home! I’ll keep you in prayer, too, as you get used to life in the United States again… just don’t ever get completely comfortable here… you have been given a gift of taking off your shoes on holy ground!

  4. Abby Van Vleck says:

    I too just returned from MOP to South Africa, and Gretchen and I were talking and she mentioned this blog to me. How cool! It’s crazy how so many people have been changed by Mission of Peace, and how we are all connected and don’t even realize it. Thank you for sharing this! I’m praying for you and your continued pilgrimage.

  5. I first sang this song in Green Lake, WI circa 1980 at an American Baptist Youth convention called Jubilee. I was only 9 years old, but this song by Miss Blesoff certainly stuck out. I have searched for years for some recording of it with little luck. I even reached out to Doris about 10 years ago. Grace and peace to you.

    • La Peregrina says:

      I’m glad to provide the lyrics! The only recording I have is one by Ted Anderson of Mission of Peace. But I unfortunately don’t think that it’s available for sale! It’s more a labor of love that he shares with people who’ve been on the mission of peace.

Leave a Reply

