“The Grammar School of Christianity”: Interview Malfunctions

This week is full of scholarship interviews at my seminary, and since I am serving on the scholarship selection committee this year, I am humbled both by the responsibility and by the fact that whatever I did several years ago managed to catch someone’s eye in the midst of all the talent that was/is there for the interview weekend.

During my interview two years ago, one of the professors that I now love refused to look at me.  He hunched over, with his face turned to the side and harumphed occasionally.  I now recognize that harumph as one that indicates listening/approval (coated with a veneer of disdain…), but I thought that I was the worst interviewee ever.

And then another professor, one who specializes in Egyptian Christianity, ended the interview with, “I have one final question:  why in the world would you call Europe the ‘cradle of Christianity’?!”

I was taken aback.  He was right.  That had slipped past a dozen proofreading eyes.  So I said the first thing that came to mind:

“Evidently that’s why I need to come to seminary!  I know that Christianity was not born in Europe—and that it has not stayed there.  What I should have written was that Europe was the grammar school of Christianity.”  

Smile.  Wonder why prof #1 isn’t looking me in the eye.  Harumph. 

Then I went on a tour of campus apartments, where grown-up people asked questions about washing machines and playgrounds and fiances.  I went back to the hotel and called my mom and cried.

This entry was posted in seminary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The Grammar School of Christianity”: Interview Malfunctions

  1. thesauros says:

    It’s quite a journey – isn’t it? God Bless – Persevere – See you there!

  2. Pingback: Spinning the Globe « La Peregrina

Leave a Reply

