Midnight Office — 5/12 pages in (still)

*Yawn.* My brain shuts off after a point, and evidently so does my body. I divided my paper into five sections and got the first two written last night when I decided to start formatting the citations on those sections. (That’s always my least favorite part…) So here I am, several hours later, with citations still not finished and a strange calling to follow the advice of the psalmist:

“At midnight I arose to give thanks unto Thee for the judgments of Thy righteousness.” -Psalm 118:62, LXX

Just in case it’s not obvious, I should reiterate that I am making up these prayer “offices” to fit my fancy… very Methodist of me and with a minimum of research from every seminary’s most-trusted source:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midnight_Office

So here’s to lighting a candle and prayerfully reading Psalm 119:57-64 (NRSV):

The Lord is my portion; I promise to keep your words.
I implore your favor with all my heart; be gracious to me according to your promise.
When I think of your ways, I turn my feet to your decrees;
I hurry and do not delay to keep your commandments.
Though the cords of the wicked ensnare me, I do not forget your law.
At midnight I rise to praise you, because of your righteous ordinances.
I am a companion of all who fear you, of those who keep your precepts.
The earth, O Lord, is full of your steadfast love; teach me your statutes.

The words of the psalmist seem far from me. Oh that I might seek the Lord as my portion, finding God’s love everywhere on earth. Oh that my motivations for praise might always be holy…

This entry was posted in Daily Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

