Day 7 Without Facebook

[no+facebook.png]I heard last night that Facebook now lets you know who has been visiting your profile.  The person who told me this was horrified that her co-worker would know how much she stalks him. 

And I’m just glad I gave up facebook for the next five weeks.  When Easter rolls around, don’t be surprised if I am stalking you.

But I never would have wanted any of you to know!

(and re: the rumor, is this true?  It seems to go against everything fb has said in the past… but I wouldn’t put it past them…)

This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 7 Without Facebook

  1. A shift in our society has occurred the past few years. We have gone from initially fearing the security of the internet to anything/everything goes, your nobody unless everything about you is transparent. There is little digital hygiene that is of any concern with many of the nets younger users. This is all they have known, so it must be safe, secure, and non-problematic. I don’t know where this all nets out for privacy and society. Caution is still necessary, storage is unlimited and cheaper by the day, and everything is connected.

  2. bgosden says:

    It’s not true. There is an app for it but I’ve heard it doesn’t work as advertised.

    • La Peregrina says:

      Oh thank goodness. I was worried that I would have to extend my Lenten fast indefinitely.

      My friend who told me said she was suddenly getting notifications about people visiting her profile, and she didn’t know how or why. But hopefully she signed up for the app without realizing.

      • Allegra says:

        ok- I definitely need to figure out if this is the case or not… otherwise I will have a lot of explaining to do, and perhaps join you in your Lenten fast. 🙂
        -Allegra

  3. Allegra says:

    btw- I *totally* support you in your commitment but I have to say that I miss you on fb. ❤

Leave a Reply

